ASTV Sports Show – Are you a player that feels stuck or down due to the lock down

Are you a player that feels stuck or down due to the lockdown? Keep calm and push on with advice from MCN Sports Advising Western Canada own Matt Gorman . Matt discusses with Drew Jensen how to break away from the negativity of the lockdown through mental and physical training.

Show brought to you by:

TOVI Hockey

Caisse Financial Group

Aveda Institute Winnipeg

Call-Inn’s Hotel

Tailgating with Theo – Playing other sports

Should athletes be playing other sports when their season is over? In this episode of Tailgating with Theo – Theo M Tutkaluk sits down with Jason Miller with Baseball Manitoba , Don Klym with Softball Manitoba, Bill Johnson Football Manitoba and Adam Wedlake with Basketball Manitoba. The table discusses playing other sports and what athletes should be doing. Show brought to you by: Murray Chrysler Morden TOVI Hockey Caisse Financial Group Backwoods Boiler Boys

Skate Canada Manitoba Announces Award Winners

WINNIPEG, MB.  March 25, 2020 – Skate Canada Manitoba is announcing our 2019-20 annual award recipients.  Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and the social distancing strategies to keep all Manitobans safe we unfortunately have cancelled our annual awards gala evening.  We will be sharing information about the award recipients on our social media platforms in the coming weeks.
The first set of recipients were selected from nominations submitted by our members throughout the province in skater, coach and volunteer categories;
Skate Canada Manitoba CanSkate Athlete Award – Jagger Hepp from Skate Thompson
Skate Canada Manitoba STARSkate Athlete Award – Lauren Ginter from the Morden Figure Skating Club
Skate Canada Manitoba CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award – David Howes from Skate Winnipeg
Skate Canada Manitoba Program Assistant Award – Caitlin Muir from Skate Stony Mountain
Skate Canada Manitoba Volunteer Award – Lorraine Dewar from the east St. Paul Figure Skating Club
Skate Canada Manitoba Volunteer Coach Award – Cindy Mahoney from Skate Virden
Skate Canada Manitoba Officials Award – Megan Maxwell from the Hazelridge Skating Club
Several other award/bursary recipients were also announced.
Skate Canada Manitoba Honor Society Induction – Miranda Edwards from Brandon Manitoba
Ian Carmichael Memorial Award winner is Kaitlin Smith from the Roblin Figure Skating Club
Manitoba Open Junior Artistic Award winner is Lily Hammond from Skate Stony Mountain
Manitoba Open Senior Artistic Award winner is Paige Dryden from Skate Virden
Skate Canada Manitoba Sectional Merit Award Recipient – David Howes from Skate Winnipeg
Skate Canada Manitoba SynchroSkate Athlete Award – Jayde Jonasson from the Morden Figure Skating Club
Manitoba Open Bursaries awarded to Megan Dryden from Skate Virden; Jayla Butcher from Skate Stony Mountain and Alison Convery from the Morden Figure Skating Club
Congratulations to all our recipients for their dedication and hard work.
For more information – contact Shauna Marling, Executive Director or 204-925-5708 (W), Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm.

ASTV is Still Here

Some crazy times we are all living through right now. But ASTV is here.
We still have TV shows booked, interviews to finish and we want to hear from you.
Have you just signed a new coach?
Player received a scholarship.?
Camp announcement?
Training update?
email us
Please share as we want to make sure all amateur sports gets covered
We could not do this without our amazing sponsors
Caisse Financial Group
TOVI Hockey
Backwoods Boiler Boys
Supplement King
Loeppky Auto Sales
Murray Chrysler Morden
Sport Manitoba
Basketball Manitoba
Doaks Bulk Fuels
Pilot-Mound Hockey-Academy
Football Manitoba
Manitoba Soccer Association
Special Olympics Manitoba
Softball Manitoba

ASTV Sports Show with Darnell Duff – WHL and MJHL

ASTV Sports Show – Darnell Duff of the DUBnetwork brings his expertise on the Brandon Wheat Kings Hockey Club (WHL) Wheaties and Winnipeg ICE Hockey Club as he discusses the effects of the lockdown. Duff also covers Manitoba Junior Hockey League action and how the Dauphin Kings are handling the abrupt stoppage in play.With your host Drew Johnson

Show brought to you by:

TOVI Hockey

Caisse Financial Group

Wentworth Ag

Backwoods Boiler Boys

Supplement King (Winkler, Manitoba)

2020 Night of Champions Award Winners Celebrating sports excellence in

Media Release
March 21, 2020
2020 Night of Champions Award Winners Celebrating sports excellence in Manitoba 
March 21, 2020 (Winnipeg, MB) – As Sport Manitoba’s Night of Champions was cancelled to reduce the public health risks associated with COVID-19, Sport Manitoba recognized and celebrated the deserving athletes, coaches, officials, and volunteers who were nominees and winners on its website and social media channels (FacebookTwitter and Instagram) this evening. Sport Manitoba Award Recipients:  
Official of the Year
Darek Mikita – Table Tennis – Winnipeg

Outstanding Volunteer
Christopher Chapman – Winnipeg
Outstanding Youth Volunteer
Jacob Morlock-Tellier – Winnipeg
Sport Manitoba Performance Male Junior Athlete of the Year
Austin Taylor – Archery – Winnipeg
Sport Manitoba Performance Female Junior Athlete of the Year
Alexa Scott – Speed Skating – Clandeboye
Club Regent Casino & Event Centre Male Open Athlete of the Year
Tyler Mislawchuk – Triathlon – Oak Bluff
Club Regent Casino & Event Centre Female Open Athlete of the Year
Kristen Campbell – Hockey – Brandon
Calm Air Junior Team of the Year
16U SHOCK Volleyball Club – Volleyball
Konica Minolta Open Team of the Year
Winnipeg Blue Bombers – Football

Club Regent Casino & Event Centre Female Coach of the Year
Tanya Pilat – Figure Skating – West St. Paul

Club Regent Casino & Event Centre Male Coach of the Year
Garth Goodbrandson – Golf – Winnipeg
Nominee Bios
The Manitoba Aboriginal Sports and Recreation Council also recognized their athletes and volunteers of the year:
Manitoba Aboriginal Female Athlete of the Year Heaven Moneyas – Multi-Sport – Lake St. Martin First Nation
Manitoba Aboriginal Male Athlete of the Year
Conner Roulette – Hockey – Misipawistik Cree Nation

Manitoba Aboriginal Male Volunteer of the Year
Mike Sutherland – Peguis First Nation

Manitoba Aboriginal Female Volunteer of the Year
Emma Bear – Peguis First Nation
“Manitoba has so many remarkable examples of outstanding athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials. These awards are an exciting and important way of recognizing and celebrating their accomplishments and contributions to sport. As we reflect on their achievements, I want to say congratulations to all the deserving nominees and winners.”
Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba
About Sport Manitoba is a not-for-profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located at 145 Pacific Avenue in Winnipeg, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in the province and is responsible for programs including the Manitoba Games powered by Manitoba HydroSport Manitoba CoachingTeam ManitobaManitoba Sports Hall of FameFit Kids Healthy Kids, and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Manitoba ClinicSport Manitoba PerformanceSport Manitoba Fitness Centre, and the Paul Robson Resource Centre for Leadership and Coaching.
For announcements, please check out our website and social media channels:
Sport Manitoba website 
For more information please contact: Sam Cortes
Communications Coordinator, Sport Manitoba
office: 204-925-5614
cell: 204-290-7630