The 2019 Volleyball Manitoba Awards & Hall of Fame Banquet 06/10/19

June 10, 2019 – The 2019 Volleyball Manitoba Awards & Hall of Fame Banquet was held last night, Sunday, June 9th, at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Polo Park, a celebration recognizing some of our outstanding athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials.

At the banquet Volleyball Manitoba recognized all Provincial Champions from this past year, All-Stars & MVP’s, National Medalists, the Age Class Players of the Year from each age category as well as the Cheryl CableMark TennantWezer Bridle Golden Whistle and Mary Jean England Coach Awards, among others.

The evening was capped off with the Volleyball Manitoba Hall of Fame inductions, which included Louise Wlock Bentley (Athlete), Stephen Densmore (Builder) and Ardith Lernout Parker (Athlete). Details of each of the 2019 inductees can be found here:

Congratulations to the following major award winners:

2018 Volleyball Manitoba Age Class Players of the Year:

15U Girls Player of the Year         Madelyn Lesnar (Club West Rage)

15U Boys Player of the Year        Lachlan MacLean (204 Gold)

16U Girls Player of the Year         Carleigh Smith-Banfield (Shock)

16U Boys Player of the Year        Spencer Grahame (Selkirk Royals)

17U Girls Player of the Year         Haley Bickell (WinMan Force)

17U Boys Player of the Year        James Duerksen (204 Gold)

18U Girls Player of the Year         Alli Pauls (Cobras)

18U Boys Player of the Year        Isaiah Olfert (Winnipeg Strike)

Mark Tennant and Cheryl Cable Awards for the Junior (20U) Players of the Year:

Cheryl Cable Memorial Award Winner – Sami Love (Brandon University Bobcats)

Mark Tennant Award Winner – Brendan Warren (University of Manitoba Bisons)

Mary Jean England Awards – Elite and Developmental Coach of the Year:

Developmental Coach of the Year – Michael DeGroot (Cats 14U Girls)

Elite Coach of the Year – Grant Wilson (Brandon University Men’s Volleyball)

Wezer Bridle Golden Whistle Award – Referee of the Year

Jamie Jones

Volleyball Manitoba Volunteers of the Year:

Chantal Desmarais (WinMan Wild 16U Boys)

Nikki Redekop Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Kalen Reyes (18U WinMan Warriors, Garden City Collegiate)

Special Recognition Award

Brandon University Men’s Volleyball Team (2018-19 Canada West Champions & USport Silver Medalists)

Teams of the Year

Beach – Anna Maidment & Erika Vermette

Indoor – Shock 16U Girls

We’d also like to take an opportunity to congratulate all of our National Championship Medalists across all Divisions and Tiers. In total, there were 113 teams participating from Manitoba, of the 929 total teams across the country. From this, Manitoba teams came home with 4 Division 1 Tier 1 medals (behind Ontario with 24 and Alberta with 6). Not to mention the numerous other medals within all other respective Age Categories, Divisions and Tiers – 40 in total. Know that all your accomplishments are a testament to your hard work and dedication to the sport, and you have our sincere congratulations.